3–10% Premix · 15–50 mcg/g · BID × 28 d

Snap-8

Dosage & Dose Escalation Guide

Snap-8 is a cosmetic peptide developed for reducing the appearance of expression lines, such as lines associated with smiling or frowning.

◆ Cosmetic Ingredient · No Injectable Dose · Premix Math Critical
  • Acetyl Octapeptide-3
  • 0.0015–0.005% Pure
  • 50 mcg/g at 0.005%
  • BID × 28 d Manufacturer
  • ≠ Argireline · Botox
  • Identity

    Ac-EEMQRRAD-NH₂ · MW ~1075.2 Da · trade name for 0.05% cosmetic peptide solution.

  • Concentration

    3%–10% of 0.05% premix = 0.0015%–0.005% pure peptide (15–50 mcg/g).

  • Human evidence

    10% solution BID × 28 d periocular · n=17 · mean −35% wrinkle depth. No injectable dose.

Research overview

What is Snap-8?

Snap-8 is a cosmetic peptide developed for reducing the appearance of expression lines, such as lines associated with smiling or frowning. The proposed idea is to interfere with some of the signals involved in repeated facial-muscle contractions, which contribute to those lines over time. It is generally discussed as an ingredient in products applied to the skin, so the finished formula and delivery into the skin matter.

What the evidence shows

Independent clinical evidence is limited. It should not be presented as equivalent to Botox or as an established injectable treatment.

Sources

These are manufacturer materials, not independent clinical trials.

How It Works

SNAP-8 is proposed to compete with SNAP-25 for SNARE complex assembly, reducing vesicle fusion and muscle contraction at expression lines — mechanistically distinct from botulinum toxin's enzymatic SNAP-25 cleavage. ~1075 Da hydrophilic peptide faces passive penetration limits through intact skin; placed-on-skin micrograms are not validated tissue doses.

Manufacturer topical

  • ✓10% of 0.05% solution · 0.005% pure
  • ✓BID × 28 d periocular
  • ✓Mean −35% wrinkle depth (n=17)

Concentration math

  • ✓3% premix → 0.0015% pure
  • ✓10% premix → 0.005% pure
  • ✓10% pure would be 2,000× higher

Unsupported routes

  • ✓No validated SC/intradermal dose
  • ✓Microneedle ≠ serum equivalence
  • ✓Combination products block monotherapy attribution

Result

Manufacturer Study: 0.005% · BID × 28 d

Supplier Range: 0.0015–0.005% Pure

Online Injection: Unsupported

Updated August 2026

SNAP-8 Dosage: Topical Concentration, Evidence, and Research Protocol

Research note: SNAP-8 is a trade name for acetyl octapeptide-3 (Ac-EEMQRRAD-NH₂). 3%–10% of the 0.05% supplier solution = 0.0015%–0.005% pure peptide (15–50 mcg/g). Manufacturer study: 10% solution BID × 28 d (~35% mean wrinkle-depth reduction). No FDA drug dose · no validated injectable dose. Percentages refer to premix, not pure powder.

SNAP-8 is marketed as a cosmetic ingredient, not an approved drug. The critical dosage distinction is between supplier solution percentage, pure peptide percentage, and applied mass on skin.

Calling a formula '10% SNAP-8' usually means 10% of a solution that is itself 0.05% peptide — yielding 0.005% pure peptide (50 mcg/g), not 10% pure peptide.

Human evidence is limited to small manufacturer and combination-product studies on intact or microneedle-delivered skin. Online lyophilized vial injection schedules have no human pharmacokinetic or safety basis.

SNAP-8 dosage in 30 seconds

QuestionEvidence-based answer
FDA drug doseNone — cosmetic ingredient
Supplier use level3%–10% of 0.05% solution
Pure peptide in product0.0015%–0.005% w/w
mcg per gram at 0.005%50 mcg/g
Manufacturer regimen10% solution BID × 28 d
Lower report3% solution · mean −7.1% depth
Injectable doseNone validated
Proposed RCT0.0015 / 0.003 / 0.005% BID × 12 wk

Compound identity

Reproducible records require full sequence, N-acetyl and C-amidated termini, intact mass, counterion, peptide assay, and related-substance profile.

Identity gate

SNAP-8 vs Argireline · botulinum toxin · injection vials

This page's subject — Ac-EEMQRRAD-NH₂ cosmetic octapeptide

MW ~1075.2 Da · CAS 868844-74-0 · trade name for dilute aqueous cosmetic ingredient. Topical route only in human evidence.

Solution, pure peptide, and finished product

Three quantities must stay separate: pure peptide, SNAP-8 Peptide Solution C (0.05% active), and finished cosmetic percentage.

Concentration math

3–10% supplier solution → 0.0015%–0.005% pure peptide

SNAP-8 Peptide Solution C is 0.05% active peptide. Finished product uses 3%–10% of that solution, not 3%–10% pure powder.

Solution in formulaPure peptide %mcg/gSolution / 100 gPeptide / 100 g
3% of 0.05% premix0.0015%15 mcg/g3 g1.5 mg
6% of 0.05% premix0.003%30 mcg/g6 g3.0 mg
10% of 0.05% premix0.005%50 mcg/g10 g5.0 mg

Formula: pure % = solution % × 0.0005. Example: 10% × 0.0005 = 0.005%.

Concentration and application mathematics

Unit converter

Supplier solution % → pure peptide % → mcg/g

Converted

0.0050% pure peptide

0.05 mcg/g

Applied topical mass calculator

Application calculator

Placed-on-skin micrograms = concentration × grams applied

0.00 mcg placed per application

(0.05 mcg/g × 0.05 g) — placed dose, not absorbed dose

Pure %0.05 g0.25 g0.50 g
0.0015%0.75 mcg3.75 mcg7.5 mcg
0.003%1.5 mcg7.5 mcg15 mcg
0.005%2.5 mcg12.5 mcg25 mcg

Placed-on-skin micrograms are not absorbed dose. Vehicle, barrier condition, and residence time determine tissue exposure.

Regulatory context

U.S. cosmetics are not FDA premarket-approved (except color additives). SNAP-8 has supplier-recommended formulation range but no regulator-reviewed therapeutic schedule. Cosmetic use level ≠ prescription dose.

Dosage in human research

Human evidence

Manufacturer topical · combination serums · microneedle patches

StudyConcentrationScheduleFinding
Lipotec manufacturern=17 women10% of 0.05% solution0.005% (50 mcg/g)BID × 28 d periocularMean wrinkle depth −34.98%; max individual ~63%
Moy 2022 (secondary)n=Prior supplier data3% of 0.05% solution0.0015% (15 mcg/g)BID × 28 d split-faceMean −7.1%; max 38% wrinkle depth
Shin 2024 microneedlen=21 completers0.03% in matrix + 3 co-activesNot isolatableOvernight daily × 14 d then q3d to d28Combination patch favored — SNAP-8 mass/patch not reported
Avcil 2020 microneedlen=Industry-fundedUndisclosed multi-peptide patchNot reported12 weeksFine lines −25.8% — cannot attribute to SNAP-8 alone
Moy 2022 serumn=31 completersMulti-ingredient serumUndisclosedBID × 12 wk whole faceOpen-label — product-level, not monotherapy
Ji 2020 analyticaln=4 patches1.42 mg patch extracted76.9 ± 8.6 ng SNAP-8QC method onlyMatrix-matched LC-MS/MS — not efficacy dose

Microneedle versus conventional topical

Route comparison

Conventional topical vs microneedle matrix — not dose-equivalent

Conventional topical max
0.005% pure · 50 mcg/g
Shin 2024 matrix
0.03% SNAP-8 + 3 co-actives
Mass per patch
Not reported (clinical) · 76.9 ng analytical QC
Route equivalence
Not equivalent — barrier disruption changes delivery
Attribution
Combination products cannot establish monotherapy dose

Evidence hierarchy

Evidence tiers

From approved drug label to unsupported injection claims

TierSourceStatus
Tier A — Approved drug labelNoneNo FDA drug dose for SNAP-8
Tier B — Controlled peptide-specific trialNone adequate yetNo optimal concentration established
Tier C — Manufacturer human studies0.0015% and 0.005% topicalReconstructable concentration · limited independence
Tier D — Combination productsMicroneedle patches/serumsFinished-product signals · not isolated SNAP-8
Tier E — In-vitro/analyticalSNARE assays · LC-MS/MSMechanism and QC only
Tier F — Supplier guidance3%–10% of 0.05% solutionFormulation convention
Tier G — Vial/injection onlineFixed mcg SC claimsNo human injection record

Supplier, market, and unsupported protocols

Protocol map

Supplier range · market serums · proposed RCT · unsupported injection

Dose / concentration
10% of 0.05% solution
0.005% · 50 mcg/g
Frequency
Twice daily × 28 d
Evidence basis
Lipotec technical brochure · 17 women

Cumulative placed-on-skin exposure

Cumulative exposure

Placed-on-skin micrograms over a treatment period

140.0 mcg total placed (0.140 mg)

5 mcg/day · 0.005% · 0.05 g/app · BID × 28 d

Clinical versus market protocols

Evidence split

Reconstructable topical studies vs market and injection claims

Human topical evidence

Manufacturer + secondary reports · combination studies

Pure peptide range
0.0015%–0.005% w/w
Supplier solution
3%–10% of 0.05% premix
Frequency
Twice daily in manufacturer reports
Duration
28 days in key studies
Injectable dose
None established

Market / unsupported practice

Undisclosed serums · vial injection claims

Serum concentration
Often undisclosed
'10% SNAP-8' error
May mean 10% premix ≠ 10% pure peptide
Injection vials
10 mg lyophilized · no human PK
Microneedling DIY
Different route · not authorized by topical data
Pump/drop dose
Unvalidated without gravimetric testing

Preclinical and mechanistic concentrations

Preclinical anchors

SNARE assays and cell baths — bypass intact skin

ModelDoseOutcome
SNARE complexNot fully reportedReduced assembly/stability — manufacturer assay
Chromaffin cells100 µM (~107.5 mcg/mL)Catecholamine release modulation — bypasses skin
Primary neurons0.75–1.5 mMDose-dependent glutamate release reduction
Argireline lineageHexapeptide dataSupports SNARE-mimetic hypothesis · not SNAP-8 dose

100 µM–1.5 mM cell bath concentrations bypass stratum corneum — not predictive of intact-skin topical activity.

Mechanism relevant to dosage

Proposed SNARE-complex competition (SNAP-25 mimicry) differs from botulinum toxin's enzymatic cleavage. ~1075 Da hydrophilic peptide faces passive penetration limits through intact skin.

Safety, tolerability, and monitoring

Safety

Tolerability in small studies · topical risks · product quality

Reported tolerability
2024 microneedle study: no AEs in 21 completers/28 d. 12-wk serum: 2/31 irritation not product-related per investigators.
Plausible topical risks
Burning, stinging, erythema, scaling; ocular exposure if applied near lid margin; contact reaction to vehicle/preservative.
Facial function
Monitor for asymmetry, ptosis, focal weakness — proposed mechanism involves SNARE pathway though topical muscle exposure unproven.
Product quality
Raw powder ≠ cosmetic-grade. Breindahl-style vial underpotency and impurities risk with unqualified material.

Complete proposed topical research protocol

Split-face RCT: 180 participants · 0.0015%, 0.003%, or 0.005% pure peptide vs vehicle · 2 mg/cm² · 0.05 g per side · BID × 12 weeks · 3D profilometry primary endpoint · Week 16 persistence follow-up. No microneedles, injection, or intentional UV.

Proposed split-face RCT

180 participants · 0.0015 / 0.003 / 0.005% · BID × 12 weeks · 2 mg/cm²

Cumulative placed dose at 0.05 g per side · twice daily

ArmPure %mcg/appmcg/day12-wk total
Vehicle————
Low0.0015%0.751.5126 mcg
Mid0.003%1.53252 mcg
High0.005%2.55420 mcg

Week 16 persistence visit · 3D profilometry primary · no microneedling or injection · vehicle-controlled split-face design.

Claims versus evidence

Claim checker

Marketing statements vs evidence

“10% SNAP-8 means 10% pure peptide in the cream”

False

10% of 0.05% solution = 0.005% pure peptide. Ten percent pure would be 2,000× more concentrated.

Dosage evidence ladder

Confidence ladder

What is known vs uncertain about SNAP-8 dosage

QuestionEvidenceConfidence
0.05% premix compositionSupplier documentationModerate–high
3–10% → 0.0015–0.005% mathDirect arithmeticHigh
0.005% used topically in humansManufacturer study n=17Moderate
0.0015% used topicallySecondary supplier-linked reportModerate–low
vs vehicle wrinkle improvementSmall manufacturer dataLow
0.005% > 0.0015% efficacyNo head-to-head RCTVery low
Reaches neuromuscular junctionNot demonstratedVery low
Microneedle combination productsControlled/prospective studiesModerate for product
Injectable human doseNoneAbsent
Long-term daily safetyLimited surveillanceLow

Bottom line

'3%–10% SNAP-8' refers to a 0.05% premixed ingredient, not pure peptide. Reconstructable conventional topical human range: 0.0015%–0.005% pure acetyl octapeptide-3, usually twice daily for 28 days in manufacturer reports.

Independent vehicle-controlled concentration-ranging replication is still missing. The best next study is a blinded split-face trial at 0.0015 / 0.003 / 0.005% with measured application mass — not vial-based injection.

3–10% premix · 15–50 mcg/g pure · BID × 28 d manufacturer · no injectable dose.

Frequently asked questions

What percentage was used in the best-known study?

10% of a 0.05% supplier solution = 0.005% pure peptide, or 50 mcg/g, applied twice daily for 28 days periocularly.

Is 10% SNAP-8 the same as 10% pure peptide powder?

No. Ten percent pure peptide would be about 2,000 times more concentrated than 0.005%.

What is the documented topical range?

0.0015%–0.005% pure peptide, from 3%–10% of the 0.05% supplier solution.

How much peptide is in one gram at 0.005%?

Fifty micrograms.

Is there an injectable SNAP-8 dose?

No validated human injection regimen, pharmacokinetic model, or clinical dose-development record exists.

Is SNAP-8 topical Botox?

No. Different substances, mechanisms, routes, evidence, and regulatory status.

Does SNAP-8 penetrate intact skin?

Size and hydrophilicity make passive penetration challenging. Human dermal PK for conventional serum is not adequately established.

Can it be used with microneedling?

That is a different delivery route requiring a separately qualified device-product protocol.

Does more peptide always work better?

Not demonstrated. No adequate head-to-head randomized concentration trial.

Is a pump or drop a scientific dose?

Only if delivered mass and variability are measured gravimetrically.

References

Top Rated Providers

Trusted research vendors

Compare all →

Affiliate disclosure: MyPepFinder may earn a commission on purchases through affiliate links. These providers sell laboratory research materials that are not intended for human or veterinary use. Compensation does not change our editorial rankings or assessments.

Stay updated on the latest peptide research

New studies and guides delivered to your inbox.